Family Ties’s Meredith Baxter: ‘I’m a Lesbian Mom’

by Blaine Zuckerman | People Magazine

Most people know Meredith Baxter as Elyse Keaton, everyone’s favorite mom from the hit ’80s sitcom Family Ties. But now the actress reveals to PEOPLE that she’s ready for the world to see her in a different – and surprising – way: “I’m a lesbian mom,” she says.

Before Baxter, 62, first started dating women seven years ago, the thought of being gay “had never crossed my mind,” she tells PEOPLE. Having been in three failed marriages to men (most famously to actor David Birney), she says of her many difficult years before coming out, “I was never comfortable with myself.” But she’s quick to add, “That doesn’t mean I was questioning.”

read more

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

