Immigration Reform Is Not ‘Comprehensive’ Unless It Includes Equality for LGBT Couples

by Camiel Becker | Bay Area Reporter

About a decade ago, while living in Central America, I met and began dating a Salvadoran man named Uvaldo. Over time, we fell in love, met each other’s families, and eventually talked about creating a life together. We discussed marriage and adopting children – almost always in the hypothetical. We wanted to be together, but I knew that living together as a biracial same-sex couple in El Salvador would be dangerous and difficult. Uvaldo knew how important it was for me to return to the U.S. to finish my studies and pursue a career as a lawyer. He was willing to come with me if it meant that we could be together.

read more

Comments are closed.

